Mountain Valley Conference

A Brief History

The Mountain Valley Collegiate Conference was an outgrowth of the Northeastern Collegiate Conference, whose membership included an array of differing two and four-year educational institutions.

On October 30, 1970, representatives from six community colleges convened for the purpose of organizing and drawing up a constitution that would unite them into one athletic body with shared compatible educational objectives, size, programs and geographic locations. Originally, there were championships in nine sports, all determined by one-day tournaments, with the exception of basketball.

During the 1976-77 year, plans were formalized for a separate Women's Division within the conference. Currently, there are championships for women members in soccer, volleyball, tennis, cross country, bowling, basketball, swimming, softball and track. Men's championships are determined in cross country, soccer, swimming, basketball, wrestling, track, lacrosse, golf, tennis, baseball and bowling.

Competition among the various members is keen. Many member colleges usually prove to be strong contenders in various Region III sports as well, making the conference one of the most viable community college athletic conferences within the Region III of the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA).

Since 1970, the membership has increased to 10. The conference charter members consisted of Adirondack Community College, SUNY Cobleskill, Fulton-Montgomery Community College, Hudson Valley Community College, Herkimer College and Schenectady County Community College. Next to realize the desirability of conference membership was SUNY Morrisville, followed by SUNY Delhi and Mohawk Valley Community College. Most recently, Columbia-Greene joined the body as the 10th member.

In 2006, SUNY Morrisville left the Mountain Valley Conference and joined the NCAA Division III ranks.

Beginning Fall 2008, SUNY Cobleskill departed the conference to become an NCAA Division III Member, and Clinton Community College and North Country Community College joined the conference, to keep it a healthy and strong 10 member conference.

In 2016, SUNY Delhi left to Mountain Valley Conference and joined the NCAA NAIA ranks.

SUNY Adirondack    Clinton   Columbia-Greene   Fulton-Montgomery   Herkimer   

Hudson Valley  Mohawk Valley  North Country   Schenectady