Jamie Ireland Hall of fame picture

3 Herkimer Lacrosse Alumni inducted in 2018 NJCAA Men's Lacrosse Hall of Fame

Syracuse, NY - The NJCAA Men's Lacrosse Hall of Fame inducted three former Herkimer Men's Lacrosse standouts this past month in Syracuse, NY. The inductees include:

Mike LaCrosse: (pictured above with Kiel Adams, Jamie Ireland, and former coach Paul Wehrum) Mike played lacrosse for Herkimer College in 1988 and 1989. He was the National Junior College Player of the Year in 1988 as he scored 95 goals and added 24 assists that season. Mike was the captain of Herkimer's first national championship team. In 1989, he was named an All American and the East Coast Conference MVP.  Mike also tried out for US World team that year.

Mike earned a full athletic scholarship to play lacrosse at Hofstra University. Mike still holds the single game record for goals with 10. He graduated from Hofstra with a bachelors degree in Business Administration.

Dave Signor: Dave played on the 1992 and 1993 National Championship teams at Herkimer College. He earned the role of captain in 1993 and was named NJCAA Player of the Year and MVP of the National Championship Game. Before Herkimer, Dave played at West Genesee High School and won 2 state championships and earned a spot on the 1991 U19 Team USA team. That team went undefeated to win a gold medal in the World Championships.

After Herkimer, Dave went on the play for the Syracuse Orangemen, where he won an NCAA National Title in 1995. Overall, Dave's teams in high school, college, and international competition complied an overall record of 176-2, with 2 high school state championships, 2 NJCAA National Championships, 1 NCAA Division 1 National Title, and a gold medal in the 1991 World Championships. 

Delby Powless: Delby was a member of the 2001 and 2002 Herkimer College Lacrosse teams, where he earned All American and Academic All American status during his time with the Generals. Powless went on to earn an athletic scholarship at Rutgers in 2004, where he was named team captain. In 2003, Powless was named the recipient of the Tom Longboat award as Canada's top Aboriginal Athlete. In 2005, Delby attended Brock University in Canada and won the Canadian University National Championship and was named to the All Canadian team.

Powless has represent the Iroquois National team 7 times at the World Championships. He was drafted by the Toronto Nationals in 2008 and won the Major League Lacrosse Championship that same year. As a coach, Powless has won a Canadian University Championship with Brock University and 5 Provincial Championships.

Congratulations to the these outstanding Herkimer College Men's Lacrosse Alumni. 





← View All News

Men's Lacrosse